Horry and Georgetown County state troopers recognized at state ‘Trooper of the Year’ awards

Troopers from Horry and Georgetown counties were recognized for their outstanding service, along with others around the state, at the South Carolina Department of Public Safety’s Trooper and Telecommunications Operators of the Year ceremony, held in Columbia on Thursday.

L. Cpl. William C. Harman of Troop Five, which is the troop for Horry and Georgetown counties, was awarded the medal of valor, and L.Cpl. Jimmy B. King was named “Trooper of the Year” for the Troop Five division, according to a press release.

“It is my honor as director of the SC Department of Public Safety to stand alongside these public servants and say congratulations for a job well done,” said SCDPS Director Leroy Smith in the release.