Beaufort County Council swearing in returning members (update: Newton re-elected)

Update, evening: Bluffton Today is reporting that Weston Newton has been re-elected as chair and Paul Sommerville as vice chair.

Read the paper's report on the meeting and talk of preparation for redistricting over here.

First reporting: The seven re-elected Beaufort County Council members will once again take the oath of office and elections of a chair and vice-chair will be made at the 4 p.m. meeting today.

You can see the meeting agenda here.

The Island Packet has a short report on the forthcoming swearing in and chair election; read it here.